top of page

Alaska Alumnae Chapter

The Alaska Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta was chartered on June 24, 1959 by six remarkable women: Luella G. White, Roberta M. Smith, Victoria Jenkins (Williams), Dolores B. Watson, Willa J. Ewing, and Evelyn Lynn. Sorors Dr. Jeanne Noble, Past 12th National President, and Dr. Geraldine Woods, National1st Vice President, sought special permission to charter the chapter of six women in 1959.  


Soon after the chartering, the energetic six were constantly in motion promoting, and putting into action the National Organization's commitment to public service, by initiating projects that would continually improve and encourage community life. We are proud to be a part of this historic sorority.  

In April 1997, Sigma Rho chapter of Delta Sigma Theta , was founded on the campus of University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA).  The Sigma Rho chapter was the first Greek organization to be granted a charter at the University. Due to the non-traditional nature of the college campus and the fact that Anchorage is home to a large number of military personnel, the Alaska Alumnae Chapter and the Sigma Rho Chapter have worked together to initiate combined lines since 1998.  


Today, the Alaska Alumnae Chapter has over 50 members. Members can be found in every aspect of the local community including in the fields of education, medicine, law, and military service. We endeavored to promote the five point programmatic thrust of our National sisterhood and believe that individual improvement is the key to survival.  


For more information about the Alaska Alumnae Chapter and our upcoming events, please provide us with your information under the Contact tab of this website.  

For more information, visit t our regional website at 

bottom of page